Packing up to go

Phew, just back from a 2-day trip to Boston. We spent several hours in the car and didn’t have to pull over once to stop any fights – definite progress!

The scene before we left, however, was not so nice. Fenner couldn’t find her iPod or her beloved Nintendo DS and she was completely distraught. “Charlotte! Where did you hide it! I know you took it!” “I didn’t! I didn’t take it!” and screaming and hitting and crying. The usual lectures about telling the truth and the harm of false accusations were on the tip of my tongue. But I kept it zipped.

What truly amazes me, as I force myself to allow these nasty fights to take their own course, is how resilient they are with each other. One minute they are seething with mutual hatred, and the next they’re talking like old friends. But that only happens if I stay out of it.

As the time to leave drew closer and Fenner became more and more distraught, Jerry’s urge to rescue her grew stronger. “Can I let Fenner use my iPod?” he whispered to me knowing full well what my answer would be. I just looked at him and shook my head. He nodded in reply….

I gave her lots of empathy. Told her how frustrated I feel when I misplace things. Talked about how they keep making these electronic devices smaller and smaller until they’re almost impossible to keep track of. The message: You’re not alone. It happens to the best of us.

And just when I thought she might be in a funk for the whole trip, she shook it off, accepted the situation, and was ready to go with a smile. She even picked out an audio book that everyone could listen to in the car together.

Explore posts in the same categories: Week 3: Timeline for Training

2 Comments on “Packing up to go”

  1. Erin Says:

    I am so hooked on your blog! I have 4 young kid and reading this gives me hope for our future. I can’t wait to find another twenty minutes so I can keep reading what happens next. I’m so glad you recorded all this!!!

    • flockmother Says:

      Thanks for writing! I’m so glad my journey gives you hope. Although I haven’t been writing posts lately, I can tell you that my girls and I continue to reap huge rewards from the changes I made. Stay with it, and give yourself plenty of time and compassion!


Leave a Reply

