Dream come true

Right now it’s 7am, I’m still in my robe, I haven’t lifted a finger, and all my girls have left for school. I’m alone in the house. It’s just me. All I have to do is take care of me and get myself ready for the day. I have wished for this, but told myself I would not have it again for many years.

Charlotte was the first one to the bus stop. She was up at 6am and ready to walk out the door at 6:30. We showed her on the clock how long she’d be waiting for the bus if she left that early. And I couldn’t resist saying, “Well, now’s a great time to have some breakfast if you’d like!” She ate a little something and then spent the rest of the time staring at the clock, waiting for it to be closer to bus time. And then she walked out the door, ignoring Ellen’s comment, “You’re still going to have to wait 10 minutes!” I watched her walk slowly up the hill.

With Charlotte on her way, Fenner and Ellen got antsy. “We should go.” “Yeah … or….do you really want to go now?” “Five more minutes?” “Ok.” … “Well, let’s just go. We can walk slowly.”

And they did.

Explore posts in the same categories: Week 4: Four Mistaken Goals of Behavior

2 Comments on “Dream come true”

  1. Vicki Says:

    I just want you to know, that I read your post every single day and every day I am inspired. I am falling in love with your amazing family.

    In fact, everyone that is connected with Parenting On Track is following this journey and your experience is having an influence on all of us. Thank You.

    Can we talk at some point? I would love to link to this blog, but didn’t want to ask too soon in the process.

    Thanks,
    Vicki


Leave a Reply

