School tomorrow

School tomorrow. Must keep mouth shut. They are capable. They can get up, get their stuff, and make their lunch, etc. I know this because I’ve witnessed it. Yes, we’re all out of practice, but it wasn’t that long ago.

But what’s my plan if the very first morning goes awry? Give myself permission to lapse into dictator mode because I can’t bear to let them be late on the first day? That’s understandable, and I would forgive myself for doing it, but it’s not what I want, and it’s not the best thing for the girls.

Tomorrow morning is the perfect time to focus on that big picture: TRUST in them. Focus on the POSITIVE. Foster INDEPENDENCE.

And trust in myself too. I can do this. But maybe I’ll have a roll of duct tape handy just in case. In fact … hmm, I’m just coming up with this idea right now… what a great visual for the girls! What a vote of confidence in THEM it would be to tape my mouth shut! I could say something like, “Girls, to remind myself how much you don’t need me to tell you what to do anymore, I’m going to tape my mouth shut for the first day of school.”

How exciting and scary. I can’t wait to see what happens…

Explore posts in the same categories: Weeks following: Miscellaneous

Leave a comment