Beyond words

I’ve got a longer post brewing, I promise. But meanwhile, this picture is worth a thousand words — for any doubters out there about how this program helps siblings get along. I had lost hope that this would ever happen again, but tonight it did. Fenner simply said, “Want me to do your hair?” And Charlotte replied, “Sure!” A year ago, they wanted to be as far apart as possible. And here they are today:

That is major, major progress for us and is a direct result of these 4 guidelines:

  • Stay out of their arguments
  • Let them do for themselves
  • Practice appreciations at family meeting
  • Tie the privilege of seeing friends to the responsibility of being basically good to each other

Have patience. It’s slooooow, but by golly it works.

Explore posts in the same categories: Weeks following: Miscellaneous

3 Comments on “Beyond words”

  1. Vicki Says:

    Oh God Catha. My heart, my heart. Thank you for sharing this. I love you.

    • flockmother Says:

      And it got even better. Charlotte got a new leotard and Fenner offered to go down into the basement playroom and help her practice her gymnastics. They were down there for at least 30 minutes together … in total harmony. Thank *you*.

  2. Kristin Says:

    I totally agree with you Catha. My kids are absolutely loving on each other since we got going on this program. We’re just about ready to kick off P&Rs and I plan on tieing playdates / being nice. I think it will be the final touch on what looks to be like a fabulous sibling relationship.

    Thanks so much for continuing to share your experiences!!


Leave a Reply

