Push back

Ellen approached me last night with a paper in her hand:

  • “Mom, I have this thing that I don’t think you’re going to want to sign.”
  • “Oh, yeah? What is it?”
  • “It says, ‘I have received the assignment and will help my child fulfill it.’”
  • “What? You mean they assume you need help before you even try?”
  • “I know. I think I’ve got it down already. … Here, I’ll write on it, ‘Parent … does not … accept’ … or … what were you going to write?”
  • “’Ellen doesn’t need my help.’”
  • “Oh, ok. I’ll erase this.”
  • Then Charlotte chimed in: “I know mom, you can say ‘I don’t help my kids because I think they can do it!’”
  • “That’s right, Charlotte. That’s exactly right.”

Say it loud, say it proud:

Explore posts in the same categories: Weeks following: Miscellaneous

7 Comments on “Push back”

  1. sblanck Says:

    I LOVE this. You have so ingrained this message in your kids heads that they can do it, handle it, figure it out, whatever. She knew this was weird even before you said it. She wouldn’t have given it a second thought before Parenting on Track. Amazing.

    • flockmother Says:

      I know. I’m so grateful for all the shifts we’ve made. So, so grateful.

      And I just started reading your blog! I’m going to read it from the beginning…

  2. Lori S. Says:

    Oh, I love it, I love it. This brings a (happy) tear to my eye. You have come so far, and I can’t wait to get there, too. Love your blog, it is really inspirational as we start our parenting on track journey.


  3. […] Okay, so you know who it is.  But she knew I was going to post this.  Check out the conversation she had with her child about this note on her blog –  Twelve and a Half Weeks […]

  4. tawnya Says:

    do you have an rss feed on this blog? i’d love to follow it on my home page!


Leave a Reply

