Glass half full

One of the most important shifts in my thinking has been to actively focus on the positive. Point out the good stuff. Notice the small steps. Scan for the silver lining. Kids are naturally good at this, and yesterday Charlotte was a shining example.

She was at a friend’s house after school and she fell and slammed her mouth against the hard part of their couch. I took her for an emergency visit to the dentist. They stuck needles in her gums to numb the pain, pulled out both her front baby teeth and gave her several stitches to help her gums heal. I don’t get woozy very much but I did watching that.

When we got home, her friend had left her a get-well card and a chocolate lollipop. I helped her to bed and told her not to think about anything else but resting up and healing her mouth. She looked at me and said, “I’m lucky.” I looked at her in amazement and said, “Why are you lucky?” She said, “Because of the lollipop and I don’t have to do my contribution!”

Plus then ice cream for breakfast — how lucky can you get?

That makes two of us.

Explore posts in the same categories: Weeks following: Miscellaneous

One Comment on “Glass half full”

  1. Vicki Says:

    Oh Catha. I’m so sorry. Poor baby and poor mommy. She is so lucky. You are so lucky. WE are so lucky that Charlotte is here. Kisses my friend.


Leave a Reply

