Unfazed

So after stressing about how Charlotte’s day would go without her backpack, wondering how upset she might still be when I saw her after school, and imagining all the things she would say … here’s how it went:

“Hi mom!” with a smile.

“Hi! … um … How was school today?”

“It was bleh!” she paused while the memories of the day gathered in her mind. Then she looked at me with raised eyebrows, “Mom! I left my backpack in the car! The teacher gave you a message, you should’ve answered her back! I had to go to the cafeteria and there was no food that I like! I tried a bagel and it was yuck!”

“Oh. Did you at least get your milk?”

“Yeah. … Then they went and got me a yogurt and I liked it. It was pink and purple and I think it had strawberry.”

And that was it.  No trauma, no drama. I’m living and learning right alongside them, and they are so much tougher than we think.

Explore posts in the same categories: Weeks following: Miscellaneous

2 Comments on “Unfazed”

  1. Vicki Says:

    Yeah for Charlotte and for her mom – but mostly HURRAY for the world! can’t wait to see you on the 5th.

    • flockmother Says:

      Hurray for the world — love that!

      btw, this morning Charlotte diligently remembered to bring her gloves to the car and then, when we got to school, left them sitting on the seat. I watched her pull her coat sleeves down over her hands as she walked and waited expectantly, again, for her to realize and backtrack to get them. She didn’t. But each time I’m more calm about it. The more I practice this, the more I know from experience that she will be ok. Learning, learning, learning. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

