Greenbacks

“This is what happens when you let them be in control of their own money and make their own choices.  They figure it out. Not when they are 19 or 23 but when they are 6, nearly 7.” –Practice and Patience

So true! Money management is one of my favorite parts of this program. Talk about a valuable life skill. And now they have YEARS to practice before they leave the nest.

For 3 days now, Fenner’s been prancing around in the new flip-flops she bought with her own money — she chose the brand, the style, the color, and the size, and found a website with a deal on buying 2 pairs at once plus free shipping. Not one word from me on any of it (yay me!). She is oh so proud of herself.

The other day Ellen was carefully counting her money while trying to decide about a purchase. She frowned, looked up at me and said, “Mom, I just don’t feel good when I have less than $50 in my wallet.” What an incredible thing to learn at the age of nine!

And then Charlotte blew me away. For almost 2 years, she’d been on the sidelines watching her sisters and cousins play with their Nintendo hand-held video games. I agreed to buy her one for her 8th birthday this July. But she didn’t want to wait and so she started saving. Week after week I watched her resist the urge to spend on anything else until one day she came to me and said, “Mom, I have $123.00. Is that enough?”

It was. She absolutely had to have it in ice blue (only available online) and was willing to wait longer to get it in the mail:

And now no more watching from the sidelines:

Explore posts in the same categories: Weeks following: Miscellaneous

3 Comments on “Greenbacks”

  1. sblanck Says:

    Love the post and thanks for the shout out!!!! 123 bucks is impressive. She’ll always have that. Amazing.

  2. Cindy Pierce Says:

    This is GREAT. Money management took us a while to get around to, and it has been the most life-changing. Can’t believe we balked. I will be telling the flip flop story to many people. And I needed the reminder to keep my fat trap shut on any part of those decisions. In our family, the saver, the spender and the loser of $ have shifted their $ approaches now that they are responsible for gifts, person items, replacing lost gear and purchasing of the random “stuff.” After witnessing the consequences of their siblings’ approaches, all of them have oozed towards saving, keep track of their gear and are very choosy about buying “stuff.”


Leave a Reply

