Food for thought

What do you hope your kids would say to this at the age of 20?

[From the Dartmouth Alumni Magazine]

The Parent Trap

From the touching to the hilarious, students divulge insights into their upbringing—and how they’ll raise the next generation.

What don’t your parents understand about you?

What I want to do with my life.

That if I haven’t talked to them in a few days, I’m still OKAY, just a bit busy.

I’m not as smart as they think I am.

That I’m gay.

I lie to them about my drug use.

All of the pressures that I have to deal with as a Dartmouth College student.

My parents are of Asian heritage….They don’t approve of the values I uphold due to my Americanization.

My personal philosophies on life, religion and politics. We never really talk deeply about anything. It’s almost a business relationship.

I am not a virgin.

Why I’ve made some bad choices. (But I don’t understand either.)

My choice of English as a major, my lack of interest in finding a high-paying job and my choice to be an atheist.

Yes, I could be an investment banker if I wanted to…but NO, I DON’T WANT TO!

That I’m, sadly, not their little girl anymore.

They don’t understand that I’ve changed a lot since I’ve been at college.

That pushing myself to my limit actually makes me happy.

My sense of humor.

Why I’m not trying harder to look for a job after graduation.

That I really don’t know what I want to do after college.

Who I am.

That perhaps near the top of the list of things I value in this world is them.

That I am a growing, independent person who isn’t still 10 years old.

Read more …

Explore posts in the same categories: Weeks following: Miscellaneous

Leave a Reply

