Beating out Abe

The other day Charlotte handed me her school journal and said, “Here, you can read this.” About halfway through, I saw this entry. I didn’t make a big deal, I just said, “Wow, that’s really nice. Thank you.”

But it is a big deal. I stared at it and thought, what a huge perk of raising thinking kids: To be a person that your kids enjoy being around. If this is how Charlotte remembers me after she’s out in the world … yeah … I can live with that 🙂
Charlotte's journal entry

If I could spend the day with anyone I would go with my mother. I choose her because if I spent time with Abraham Lincoln there would be nothing to talk about. He would be a total stranger. With my mom I can talk about anything or go anywhere. She is so fun to be around. —Charlotte

Explore posts in the same categories: Weeks following: Miscellaneous

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Beating out Abe”

  1. Jen Says:

    I’ve just spent the last few days reading your blog start to finish. I see a lot of the relationship problems my boys have in your early posts about your girls. It was such an inspiration to read along as your girls worked out their issues, and now I am ready to get started on our own journey. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

